Back to TROPICS homepage    

TROPICS brings together scientists with different backgrounds and expertise with a shared interest in SST patterns. The Team consists of well-qualified scientists taking into account gender balance, career stage balance, as well as geographical diversity. The areas of expertise include climate modeling, atmosphere-ocean interaction, atmospheric dynamics, physical oceanography and cloud-radiative processes. All the members are experts in climate dynamics and work on aspects of the Earth energy budget and climate feedbacks. 


Sarah Kang (CDP) Professor at Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology in Ulsan, Korea
Initial co-chair & core leadership group
Mat Collins (SSG) Professor at the University of Exeter, UK
Initial co-chair & core leadership group
Masa Watanabe (CFMIP, SSG)
Professor at the Atmosphere and Ocean Research Institute (AORI), 
the University of Tokyo, Japan
Core leadership group
Yen-Ting Hwang (CFMIP) Associate professor at the National Taiwan University, Taiwan. Core leadership group
Malte F. Stuecker (Other CLIVAR WGs; TBI, TPDV; ECR)
Assistant Professor at the Department of Oceanography and 
International Pacific Research Center at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa.
Core leadership group
Shayne McGregor (PRP) Associate Professor, School of Earth and the Environment, Monash University Core leadership group
Antonietta Capotondi (PRP) Physical Sciences Lab, NOAA WG member
Kris Karnauskas (PRP) Associate Professor, Oceans and Climate Lab., U. Colorado WG member
Samantha Stevenson (PRP) Associate Professor, Bren School of Environmental Science & Management, UC Santa Barbara WG member
Jerome Vialard (PRP) Institut de Recherche pour le Développement WG member
Shineng Hu (ECR) Assistant Professor at Duke University WG member
Jennifer Kay (CFMIP) Associate Professor at University of Colorado WG member
Paulo Ceppi (CFMIP) Lecturer at Imperial College London WG member
Yue Dong (ECR) NOAA Climate & Global Change Postdoctoral Fellow at LDEO/Columbia University WG member
Jun Ying (ECR) Associate Researcher at Second Institute of Oceanography, 
Ministry of Natural Resources, China
WG member
Natalie Burls (CDP) Associate Professor at George Mason University WG member
Matt England (CDP) Scientia Professor, University New South Wales WG member
Mike Byrne (CDP) Reader, School of Earth and Enviro Sciences, University of St Andrews WG member
Rob Jnglin Wills (CDP) Assistant Professor, Institute for Atmospheric and Climate Science, ETH Zurich WG member


Liping Yin